Three-time alum elected into National Academy of Engineering

Gregory N. Washington, who graduated with his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in mechanical engineering from NC State in 1989, 1991 and 1994 respectively, was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) this week. 

The three-time MAE alum currently serves as the president of George Mason University and is one of only 124 individuals elected to the NAE this year, bringing the total worldwide membership to 2,739. Election to the prestigious organization is among the highest professional honors that an engineer can receive. Washington is also a member of the 2013 Class for MAE Alumni Hall of Fame. 

Washington’s specialties lie in dynamic systems, with an emphasis in the modeling and control of smart material structures and systems. Washington has conducted research for the National Science Foundation (NSF), NASA, General Motors, the Air Force Research Laboratory and the U.S. Army Research Office. 

Founded in 1964, the NAE is a private, independent nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the United States and the global community.

According to their website their mission is to “advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation by providing independent advice on matters involving engineering and technology, and by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and public appreciation of engineering.”

According to the NAE website, membership with the NAE is only afforded to “those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.” 

The announcement of the new members states that Washington was elected to the NAE “for the advancement of technology at the interface of electromagnetics and materials, and dedicated leadership and service in engineering education.”

Washington and the other newly elected NAE members will be formally inducted during the organization’s annual meeting on Oct. 1, 2023.